When working on a Media Commons iMac, you will have to back up your project when you are not actively working on it. This is because all of Penn State’s iMacs get refreshed every day so everything gets deleted. Additionally, you will not be able to access your work from one iMac on a different iMac on campus.
There are a few options for backing up your video project when working on a Media Commons iMac. Select the option that works best for you. Each of the linked tutorials explains how to back up to the selected option and also how to restore your project to work on it again.
Cloud storage is a way to store files online with services such as Microsoft 365 OneDrive, Google Drive, and Dropbox. You can use whichever service you prefer. Your project will be accessible from any computer connected to the internet. This is the ideal choice if you want to move your project to a non-Media Commons computer. If you do not already use one of these services, use OneDrive. Visit our Backing up to Cloud Storage tutorial for details of the process.
Backing up to an external drive is a fast and reliable method, if you already own flash drive or hard drive. You will be able to access your file from any computer. This is the ideal choice if you want to move your project to a non-Media Commons computer and already own your own drive. Visit our Backing up to Flash Drive/External Hard Drive tutorial for details of the process.
Every Media Commons computer is enabled to connect to the Media Commons Storage Server. You are able to quickly sign up for space on the server and then save your project to your space. This option is ideal if you will only be editing on Media Commons iMacs and/or if your project exceeds 15GB. The MC Storage Server can only be accessed by the MC iMacs. Visit our Backing up to MC Storage Space tutorial for details of the process.
The Media Commons iMacs have an app installed on them that enable you to back up your project to the MC Storage Server with just the click of a button. Be very careful when using the app as clicking the wrong button may result in losing your project. Visit our Back Up/Restore Using the Back Up App tutorial for details of the process.